Compliance & Product Regulatory ApproVals

Policy Circular No. 06/2023-24 – Implementation of Import Management Systems for IT Hardware -reg

Few clarifications were provided  in view of previous notifications 23 dated 3rd Aug 2023, 26 dated 6th Aug 2023 and 38 dated 19th Oct 2023


  • Import Authorisation is exempted only for goods imported from one division to another division of  the same organisation applicable for SEZ units and EOUs/EHTP/STPI/BTP


  • No Import restrictions for spares, parts , assemblies, sub-assemblies, components for the IT hardware


  • Import License is exempted for IT hardware for capital goods. Eg. Laptops/tables accompanying machinery such as CNC/MRI  Machines etc… However exemption is not applicable for servers/laptops which are considered as primary capital goods.


  • Multiple authorisations can be applied  which are valid up to 30th Sep 2024. Once the Import Authorisation is issued  quantity can be amended at any point as long as there is no change in the overall value. One has to file the application  on the DGFT Website. (

more insights

Praveen Rao

CEO & Technical Director, C-PRAV Group: Australia, New Zealand, India & Canada 

C-PRAV Labs & Certifications 

Professional engineering experience of 30+ years with technical and managerial skills obtained from professional degree, courses, and hands-on experience, while working with organizations and companies involved in Design & Development, Testing, Inspection, Certification and Compliance (TICC). 

Management of electrical/electronic products & systems Testing and Certifications for Global markets in Consumer, Industrial, IT, Telecom, Defence, Medical, and Automotive Industries. Overall advisory for Standards, Regulations, Testing and Certifications for Global Market Access (GMA). 

  • ISO/IEC 17025 Lab Quality Management 
  • NATA Authorised Signatory (1995 to 2000) for EMC Testing 
  • NATA & IANZ Authorised Technical Assessor (current)
  • EMI/EMC, RF/Wireless, EMR-RF Exposure/SAR 
  • NATA Technical Assessors Advisory Committee (current) 
  • Current Chair of Australian EMC National Standards Committee 
  • Member of Australian National standards committees for Safety, Radio, RF Exp/SAR 
  • Represent Australia in International Standards committees like IEC, CISPR, IEEE 
  • Member of Telecommunications Certification Body Council, USA and European REDCA