Compliance & Product Regulatory ApproVals

Amendment in Import Policy of ITC (HS), 2022

With reference to previous DGFT notification 23/2023  dated 3rd Aug 2023 followed by another Notification dated 4th Aug 2023, few changes in Import policy, few additional  conditions are incorporated in notification 38 dated 19th Oct 2023.


Import Authorization is exempted for IT hardware which are manufactured in SEZ for import purpose into ‘Domestic Tariff Area’. However necessary duties have to be paid as applicable. Other activities such as re-packing, labelling , refurbishing, testing and calibration within the SEZ cannot be  considered as Manufacturing just for the purpose to avail this exemption.


Private entities are allowed to import IT hardware without Import Authorisation for Central Government/Defence sectors/Security purpose requirements. Valid document has to be provided at customs issued by Government entity.


Exemption is applicable for import for the purpose of repair/ return/replacement of IT hardware sold earlier as well as re-import of items repaired abroad on self -certification basis.

more insights

Praveen Rao

CEO & Technical Director, C-PRAV Group: Australia, New Zealand, India & Canada 

C-PRAV Labs & Certifications 

Professional engineering experience of 30+ years with technical and managerial skills obtained from professional degree, courses, and hands-on experience, while working with organizations and companies involved in Design & Development, Testing, Inspection, Certification and Compliance (TICC). 

Management of electrical/electronic products & systems Testing and Certifications for Global markets in Consumer, Industrial, IT, Telecom, Defence, Medical, and Automotive Industries. Overall advisory for Standards, Regulations, Testing and Certifications for Global Market Access (GMA). 

  • ISO/IEC 17025 Lab Quality Management 
  • NATA Authorised Signatory (1995 to 2000) for EMC Testing 
  • NATA & IANZ Authorised Technical Assessor (current)
  • EMI/EMC, RF/Wireless, EMR-RF Exposure/SAR 
  • NATA Technical Assessors Advisory Committee (current) 
  • Current Chair of Australian EMC National Standards Committee 
  • Member of Australian National standards committees for Safety, Radio, RF Exp/SAR 
  • Represent Australia in International Standards committees like IEC, CISPR, IEEE 
  • Member of Telecommunications Certification Body Council, USA and European REDCA