Compliance & Product Regulatory ApproVals

China MIIT published a notice amending the format and coding requirements for radio transmitting equipment (CMIIT ID Code) for Type Approval certifications.

  • The MIIT (Ministry of Industry and Information Technology) published new ID encoding guidelines for the State Radio Regulatory Commision (SRRC) on August 31, 2023. 
  • This guideline is the revision of the “Radio Transmission Equipment Type Approval Certificate Format” and the “Radio Transmission Equipment Type Approval Code Coding Rules”. 
  • This ID will be 12 digits long- AABCCDDDEEEE and will include the following five elements of information: year code, equipment category, territorial code, manufacturer code, and autonomous code for the equipment. 

Where, AA representing the year code, B representing the equipment code, CC representing the territory code, DDD representing the enterprise code, and EEEE representing the independent code. 

  • Existing CMIIT IDs created under the previous approach are unaffected and can be used indefinitely. 
  • The new regulations will go into effect on December 1, 2023. 

more insights

Praveen Rao

CEO & Technical Director, C-PRAV Group: Australia, New Zealand, India & Canada 

C-PRAV Labs & Certifications 

Professional engineering experience of 30+ years with technical and managerial skills obtained from professional degree, courses, and hands-on experience, while working with organizations and companies involved in Design & Development, Testing, Inspection, Certification and Compliance (TICC). 

Management of electrical/electronic products & systems Testing and Certifications for Global markets in Consumer, Industrial, IT, Telecom, Defence, Medical, and Automotive Industries. Overall advisory for Standards, Regulations, Testing and Certifications for Global Market Access (GMA). 

  • ISO/IEC 17025 Lab Quality Management 
  • NATA Authorised Signatory (1995 to 2000) for EMC Testing 
  • NATA & IANZ Authorised Technical Assessor (current)
  • EMI/EMC, RF/Wireless, EMR-RF Exposure/SAR 
  • NATA Technical Assessors Advisory Committee (current) 
  • Current Chair of Australian EMC National Standards Committee 
  • Member of Australian National standards committees for Safety, Radio, RF Exp/SAR 
  • Represent Australia in International Standards committees like IEC, CISPR, IEEE 
  • Member of Telecommunications Certification Body Council, USA and European REDCA